Sunshine Coast trip

It’s already end of June and I’ve been in Australia for 10months. To be honest this year has gone so much faster than my year in America! And talking about America… Wes and his sister were at this time getting ready for their trip to America that they had planned for a very long time. We had a goodbye party on Saturday evening that went a little overboard when some guys showed up. But it was a nice evening, with a lot of laughter and dancing!

 

After that I went back to working and left for a short visit up to Sunshine Coast at the same time as they left for America. The flight was one hour delayed but went alright. I came to the coast and was surprised how nice the weather actually was for being winter. Took a walk on the beach and took in old memories. That day I went salsa dancing at Montegos, which wasn’t as fun as I remembered it but it was nice to see familiar faces. The next day I met up with friends twice at a café and later in the evening for dinner. And on Saturday I went to watch my friend get married which was absolutely amazing. The bride looked stunning and the atmosphere was breathtaking. I couldn’t help crying and dreaming of my own wedding. I also got a text from Wes saying happy two months which made me even more happy. Oh and did I mention he got me a beautiful Pandora charm?

 

It was mostly family invited to the reception so afterwards I went with three of my guy friends to a restaurant. After that they headed to two other guys home and I decided to bolt, me alone with 5 other guys wasn’t really something I was looking forward to. I texted my girlfriend and met up for a quick chat before I headed back to the hostel I was staying at. Back at the hostel I met three Swedish people celebrating midsummer. What a surprise. Had a chat with them and got teased for talking ‘svengelska’. I got the number of the Swedish couple thinking of moving down to Melbourne. So I will see if I ever meet up with them again! Sunday morning I woke up feeling like crap, had a fever and a cold. I suppose it was after staying at that hostel.. I relaxed most of that day so that I would have energy to go dancing in Brisbane in the evening. In the evening I got picked up and went to the city. Dancing was fun, it was a lot of people and everyone danced with everyone. Towards the end I felt how sick I was and headed home. My friend was so tired that he couldn’t stay in the right lane while driving. I insisted on driving even though I wasn’t feeling good. At least this way we came home safely!

 

The next day I met up with Kristin at Starbucks before headed to the airport. And after arriving at the airport I found out my flight was cancelled. The next available flight was the other day and I could choose to fly from Brisbane or Sunshine coast. I first decided to fly from Sunshine coast the other day but later on changed my mind when a person told me his flight had been cancelled for several days in a row. Because I was feeling sick and really wanted to get home I decided to travel to Brisbane. They had a free bus leaving and I jumped on it. At the airport I checked if there was anyway to get home that day but it was simple impossible. I started to realize that I would have to spend the night at the airport as all the accommodation was a pretty far taxi ride away and I didn’t want to spend that money and then try to get back early in the morning for my 8 a clock flight.

 

I found all the good spots at the airport and which shower I liked the best etc. I sat down by the gates feeling miserably for a while. The boarding started for Sydney and Melbourne and I was watching with envy. The Sydney one finished and I went up to talk to the girl. I asked what would happen if someone doesn’t show up for the Melbourne flight and if I could take their place. She said it would take too long time to get me on the flight and fix with all the paperwork when everyone else would already be onboard the plane. I sat down again happy that I at least asked. Five minutes later the woman came running to me and said that if I hurry up they would be kind enough to wait for me and they could get me on the plane. In the blurriness of 5 minutes I had grabbed all my stuff and they had gotten me on the plane. I was feeling terribly sick but extremely happy knowing that I would soon be home. But it was not over yet. Because of my massive cold I had the worse flight ever. I cried throughout the whole trip and during landing I seriously thought my head would explode. I guess I’m happy I could keep the kids around me entertained as they wouldn’t stop staring at me. I don’t blame them, I was a total wreck. After landing I tried to reach my host parents with no success.  I started finding my way home myself taking the airport bus and then I train. It took 2h instead of half an hour if I would have gotten picked up.  But at that time I didn’t care, I knew that I was on my way home and I was thinking over and over again; I’m soon there, soon there, soon home!


♥ Rebecka

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0